Franck Bourdier PhD award

The French Association for the Study of the Quaternary – French National Committee of INQUA (AFEQ-CNF INQUA) awards every two years a prize of 500 euros intended to reward a thesis of excellent quality supported in a university or an authorized French organization and concerning work on the Quaternary.

Since 2020, this prize pays tribute to Franck Bourdier (1910-1985), internationally known for his work on the Quaternary of the Rhone Valley and the Paris Basin, former director of the Laboratory of Geology of the Quaternary and Prehistory of the EPHE and President of the AFEQ from 1972 to 1974.

Contest Rules

This prize is open to any young researcher who does not hold a permanent position in a public research institution or a private organization. Applicants must have completed a thesis in French or English and obtained the degree of doctor in the two years preceding the deadline for submission of the application file. They must be members of the association and up to date of their membership fee. The jury is made up of the members of the association council who, for each thesis, solicit a reporter from outside the council. The decision taken by the jury is sovereign and without appeal. The prize is awarded on the occasion of “Q” symposia organized by the association. The laureate is committed to make a presentation of his work during the conference. The name of the laureate and the summary of his thesis will be published in the Quaternary journal and posted on the association’s website.
The application file includes:
– 1 sheet including contact information for the applicant
– 2 copies of the thesis in paper form for the rapporteurs
– the thesis in pdf format
– a summary of the thesis
– the defense report
– 1 short curriculum vitae
– a list of publications
– a maximum of 2 most significant publications in pdf format.

To send to Julie Dabkowski before September 30, 2019 (postmark as proof). Any incomplete file will not be examined!
2020 laureates:

The AFEQ – CNF INQUA 2020 PhD award was awarded ex-aequo to two young doctors:

AFEQ PhD award ceremony at Q12 symposium in 2020, Paris.  Anaëlle Vayssière and Coralie Zorzi received their award from Pascal Bertran, AFEQ President

Search OpenEdition Search

You will be redirected to OpenEdition Search